Halloumi Cheese Non Salted is a semi-hard, unripened cheese made from a mixture of goat’s and sheep’s milk, and sometimes also cow’s milk. It has a high melting point and so can easily be fried or grilled. This property makes it a popular meat substitute. Rennet (mostly vegetarian or microbial these days) is used to curdle the milk in halloumi production, although no acid-producing bacteria are used in its preparation. Halloumi Cheese is a source of protein.